

WASHOE COUNTY

Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.gov

STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: June 20, 2023

DATE: May 15, 2023

TO: Board of County Commissioners

FROM: Trevor Lloyd, Planning Manager, Planning & Building Division,

Community Services Department, (775) 328-3617,

tlloyd@washoecounty.gov

THROUGH: Kelly Mullin, AICP, Division Director, Planning & Building Division,

Community Services Dept., (775) 328-3619,

kmullin@washoecounty.gov

SUBJECT: Recommendation, pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities,

to appoint Pat Phillips, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. The current list of Regional Planning Commission alternates approved by the Board of County Commissioners are: First Alternate: Pat Phillips, Second Alternate: Michael Flick; Third Alternate: Daniel Lazzareschi, Fourth

Alternate: Rob Pierce. (All Commission Districts.)

SUMMARY

The Board of County Commissioners (Board) is asked to appoint Pat Phillips to a seat held by Washoe County on the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission (RPC).

Washoe County Strategic Objective supported by this item: Meet the Needs of a Growing Community

PREVIOUS ACTION

On August 16, 2022, the Board set the list of alternates to the RPC as follows: First Alternate: Pat Phillips, Second Alternate: Michael Flick; Third Alternate: Daniel Lazzareschi, Fourth Alternate: Rob Pierce

On August 18, 2020, the Board appointed Sarah Chvilicek to a second full term on the RPC starting July 1, 2020, and ending on June 30, 2023.

BACKGROUND

Pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c), the Board appoints three members from the Washoe County Planning Commission (PC) to represent Washoe County on the RPC, at least two

AGENDA ITE	M #
------------	-----

of which must be residents of the unincorporated County. Since all PC members are unincorporated County residents, this requirement is fulfilled. RPC member terms are three years in length and are staggered. At the present time, the Regional Planning Commissioners representing Washoe County are:

Name	Term
Sarah Chvilicek	July 2020 – June 2023
Kate Nelson	July 2021 – June 2024
Francine Donshick	July 2022 – June 2025

Ms. Chvilicek is serving her second full term on the RPC which began July 1, 2020 and ends June 30, 2023.

Should the Board agree with staff's recommendation, the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commissioners representing Washoe County would be:

Name	Term
Kate Nelson	July 2021 – June 2024
Francine Donshick	July 2022 – June 2025
Pat Phillips	July 2023 – June 2026

FISCAL IMPACT

Regional Planning Commission members are compensated at a rate of \$80.00 per meeting pursuant to NRS 278.0262(4). The RPC typically meets six times a year, which equates to an annual compensation of \$480 per member. Funds to compensate Washoe County appointed RPC members for scheduled meetings are included as part of the FY 2023-2024 Budget in CSD Planning & Development Admin (105400), Contracted/Temp Services (710110).

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended, pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities, to appoint Pat Phillips, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. The current list of Regional Planning Commission alternates approved by the Board of County Commissioners are: First Alternate: Pat Phillips, Second Alternate: Michael Flick; Third Alternate: Daniel Lazzareschi, Fourth Alternate: Rob Pierce.

POSSIBLE MOTION

Should the Board agree with staff's recommendation, a possible motion would be:

"Pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities, move to appoint Pat Phillips, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows

Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. The current list of Regional Planning Commission alternates approved by the Board of County Commissioners are: First Alternate: Pat Phillips, Second Alternate: Michael Flick; Third Alternate: Daniel Lazzareschi, Fourth Alternate: Rob Pierce."

Attachment A: Pat Phillips PC Application

cc: Pat Phillips

Jeremy Smith, Executive Director, TMRPA