

# **WASHOE COUNTY**

Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.us

# **STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE:** June 19, 2018

**DATE:** Wednesday, June 13, 2018

**TO:** Board of County Commissioners

**FROM:** Jeff Scott, Library Director, 775-327-8341, jscott@washoecounty.us

**THROUGH:** David Solaro, Assistant County Manager

SUBJECT: Recommendation to appoint one candidate from a pool of applicants,

including: Tyler Ballance, Christopher Berry, Wayne Holland, Gabrielle McGregor, and Betsy Wilson to fill one vacating seat on the Washoe County Library Board of Trustees, with a term effective July 1, 2018

through June 30, 2022. (All Districts)

#### **SUMMARY**

The Washoe County Library Board of Trustees is recommending the Board of County Commissioners appoint one candidate from a pool of applicants, including: Tyler Ballance, Christopher Berry, Wayne Holland, Gabrielle McGregor, and Betsy Wilson to fill one vacating seat on the Washoe County Library Board of Trustees, with a term effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.

#### Washoe County Strategic Objective supported by this item:

Regional and Community Leadership

#### **PREVIOUS ACTION**

None.

#### **BACKGROUND**

On June 30, 2018, Trustee Derek Wilson will complete the second of two full four-year terms as a Trustee. In response to notices in local newspapers, the County website and the Library website, 5 individuals expressed interest and submitted applications, which are appended to this report.

NRS 379.020(1) requires the Board of County Commissioners to appoint members to the Washoe County Library Board of Trustees. Individuals appointed must be residents of Washoe County and must be competent. In addition, the Board of Trustees has recommended the following criteria to be used when evaluating applicants:

- Demonstrated use and appreciation of libraries
- Experience working with libraries, especially public libraries
- Other work experience
- Volunteer experience

AGENDA ITEM#	
--------------	--

- Community involvement
- Commission district where the applicant resides

The respective County Commission District in which each of the 5 applicants resides is listed below:

Tyler Ballance	District 2
Christopher Berry	District 2
Wayne Holland	District 4
Gabrielle McGregor	District 1
Betsy Wilson	District 4

The Commission District in which each current Library Trustee resides is as follows:

Wendy Alderman	District 1
Zanny Marsh	District 4
Ted Parkhill	District 1
Jean Stoess	District 1
Derek Wilson	District 2

## **FISCAL IMPACT**

No fiscal impact.

# **RECOMMENDATION**

Recommendation to appoint one candidate from a pool of applicants, including Tyler Ballance, Christopher Berry, Wayne Holland, Gabrielle McGregor, and Betsy Wilson to fill one vacating seat on the Washoe County Library Board of Trustees, with a term effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.

## **POSSIBLE MOTION**

Should the Board agree with staff's recommendation, a possible motion would be: "Move to appoint [selected applicant] to fill one vacating seat on the Library Board of Trustees, with a term effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.