# WASHOE COUNTY



Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.us

## STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: June 25, 2019

**DATE:** May 10, 2019

**TO:** Board of County Commissioners

**FROM:** Trevor Lloyd, Planning Manager, Planning and Development, Community

Services Department, 328-3617, tlloyd@washoecounty.us

**THROUGH:** Mojra Hauenstein, Arch., Planner, Division Director, Planning and

Development, Community Services Department, 328-3619,

mhauenstein@washoecounty.us

**SUBJECT:** Recommendation to approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the

recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Kathryn S. Nelson to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 2 (generally includes the Southeast Truckee Meadows area, the Southwest Truckee Meadows area, and Washoe Valley), to fill a full term beginning on July 1, 2019, and ending on June 30, 2023, or until such time as Ms. Nelson no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. Applicants include: Michael Lawson, Keith Lockard, Kathryn S. Nelson, Robert Parker, Jeanne Ruefer, John Sagebiel, Ian Satterfield, Shaun O'Harra, Grant Sims. (Commission

District 2.)

# **SUMMARY**

Michael Lawson's term on the Planning Commission will expire on June 30, 2019. County Commissioner Bob Lucey has recommended Kathryn S. Nelson to the Chair of the Washoe County Board of Commissioners (Board) to be considered for appointment to the Planning Commission. If appointed, the term will begin on July 1, 2019, and end on June 30, 2023, or until such time as a successor is appointed.

Washoe County Strategic Objective supported by this item: Stewardship of Our Community

#### PREVIOUS ACTION

On May 9, 2017, the Board appointed Michael Lawson to the Washoe County Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term beginning on June 6, 2017, and ending on June 30, 2019.

#### **BACKGROUND**

Nevada State Law requires Washoe County to create a Planning Commission to adopt the County's Master Plan and to provide other land use duties as established in County codes. The Board established the Planning Commission to hear and decide on applications for abandonments, certain special use permits, and tentative subdivisions; and, to hear and make recommendations to the Board concerning amendments to the County's Master Plan and the Development Code (Washoe County Code Chapter 110), adopted regulatory zone maps, and development agreements. Terms of appointment are four years and the appointees must be residents of the unincorporated area of Washoe County and registered voters at the time of their appointment and throughout their term of office. Washoe County Code (WCC) Section 110.912.05(c)(4) establishes the appointment and qualifications for Planning Commission members. Pursuant to this code section, the Board appoints seven members to the Planning Commission as follows:

- Five members representing each of the County Commission Districts;
- One member from north of the Truckee River; and,
- One member from south of the Truckee River.

Planning and Building staff actively recruited for this position through newspaper advertisement, by c-mail to citizens signed up for "citizen involvement" group and the "District 2" group, and by posting on the County's website. Staff received 9 applications including Ms. Nelson's. The other applicants are listed below:

Michael Lawson Keith Lockard Robert Parker Jeanne Ruefer John Sagebiel Ian Satterfield

Shaun O'Harra – Ineligible-does not live in unincorporated Washoe County Grant Sims – Ineligible-does not live in unincorporated Washoe County

All applications are included as Exhibits to this staff report.

Based on direction previously provided by the Board, the Commissioner whose district is represented by the Planning Commission vacancy, (Commission District 2 in this case) recommends the appointment. Commissioner Lucey recommends that Kathryn Nelson be appointed to a fill a full term on the Planning Commission commencing on July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023, or until such time as a successor is appointed. Ms. Nelson's application is included as Exhibit A to this staff report.

WCC Section 110.912.05(c)(1) requires that the Chairman of the Board appoint, subject to the approval of the Board, members of the Planning Commission.

#### FISCAL IMPACT

As authorized by NRS 278.040(3) and WCC Section 110.912.05(e), the Planning Commission members receive an \$80 per meeting stipend. The Planning Commission is required by Nevada Revised Statute to meet monthly, which equates to an annual per member stipend of \$960. Funds to compensate all Planning Commission members for scheduled meetings are included in the FY 2020 budget. FY 2020 budget authority exits in Community Services Department Planning and Development Admin (105400), Contracted/Temp Services (710110).

## **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that the Board of County Commissioners approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Kathryn S. Nelson to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 2 (generally includes the Southeast Truckee Meadows area, the Southwest Truckee Meadows area, and Washoe Valley), to fill a full term beginning on July 1, 2019, and ending on June 30, 2023, or until such time as Ms. Nelson no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first.

#### POSSIBLE MOTION

Should the Chair appoint Ms. Nelson to the Planning Commission and should the Board agree with the appointment, a possible motion would be:

"Move to approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Kathryn S. Nelson to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 2 (generally includes the Southeast Truckee Meadows area, the Southwest Truckee Meadows area, and Washoe Valley), to fill a full term beginning on July 1, 2019, and ending on June 30, 2023, or until such time as Ms. Nelson no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first."

Exhibit A – Kathryn S. Nelson Application

Exhibit B – Michael Lawson Application

Exhibit C – Keith Lockard Application

Exhibit D – Robert Parker Application

Exhibit E – Jeanne Ruefer Application

Exhibit F – John Sagebiel Application

Exhibit G – Ian Satterfield Application

Exhibit H – Shaun O'Harra Application

Exhibit I – Grant Sims Application

Cc: Kathryn Nelson