# WASHOE COUNTY



Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.us

## STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: April 14, 2020

**DATE:** March 27, 2020

**TO:** Board of County Commissioners

**FROM:** Trevor Lloyd, Planning Manager, Planning and Building, Community

Services Department, 328-3617, tlloyd@washoecounty.us

**THROUGH:** Mojra Hauenstein, Arch., Planner, Division Director, Planning and

Building, Community Services Department, 328-3619,

mhauenstein@washoecounty.us

SUBJECT: Recommendation to approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the

recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Larry Peyton to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 1 (generally includes Incline Village and Crystal Bay, most of the Southwest Truckee Meadows area and portions of the Forest area along the west side of Mt. Rose Highway), to fill a partial term beginning on June 1, 2020, and ending on June 30, 2022, or until such time as Mr. Peyton no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. Applicants include: Dereck S. Barrett, Thomas B. Courson, Michael Lefrancois, Larry Peyton, D. Alexandra T.

Profant, Joy Royston, Joseph Schulz. (Commission District 1.)

#### **SUMMARY**

Philip Horan, Planning Commissioner representing District 1, resigned on December 30, 2019. County Commissioner Marsha Berkbigler has recommended Larry Peyton to the Chair of the Washoe County Board of Commissioners (Board) to be considered for appointment to the Planning Commission. If appointed, the term will begin on June 1, 2020, and end on June 30, 2022, or until such time as a successor is appointed.

Washoe County Strategic Objective supported by this item: Stewardship of Our Community

## PREVIOUS ACTION

On May 22, 2018, the Board appointed Philip Horan to a second term on the Washoe County Planning Commission beginning on July 1, 2018, and ending on June 30, 2022.

#### BACKGROUND

Nevada State Law requires Washoe County to create a Planning Commission to adopt the County's Master Plan and to provide other land use duties as established in County

codes. The Board established the Planning Commission to hear and decide on applications for abandonments, certain special use permits, and tentative subdivisions; and, to hear and make recommendations to the Board concerning amendments to the County's Master Plan and the Development Code (Washoe County Code Chapter 110), adopted regulatory zone maps, and development agreements. Terms of appointment are four years and the appointees must be residents of the unincorporated area of Washoe County and registered voters at the time of their appointment and throughout their term of office. Washoe County Code (WCC) Section 110.912.05(c)(4) establishes the appointment and qualifications for Planning Commission members. Pursuant to this code section, the Board appoints seven members to the Planning Commission as follows:

- Five members representing each of the County Commission Districts;
- One member from north of the Truckee River; and,
- One member from south of the Truckee River.

Planning and Building staff actively recruited for this position through newspaper advertisement, by c-mail to citizens signed up for "citizen involvement" group and the "District 1" group, and by posting on the County's website. Staff received 7 applications. The applicants are listed below:

Dereck S. Barrett Thomas B. Courson Michael Lefrancois Larry Peyton D. Alexandra T. Profant Joy Royston Joseph Schulz

All applications are included as Attachments to this staff report.

Based on direction previously provided by the Board, the Commissioner whose district is represented by the Planning Commission vacancy (Commission District 1 in this case) recommends the appointment. Commissioner Berkbigler recommends that Larry Peyton be appointed to a fill a partial term on the Planning Commission commencing on June 1, 2020, through June 30, 2022, or until such time as a successor is appointed. Mr. Peyton's application is included as Attachment A to this staff report.

WCC Section 110.912.05(c)(1) requires that the Chairman of the Board appoint, subject to the approval of the Board, members of the Planning Commission.

## **FISCAL IMPACT**

As authorized by NRS 278.040(3) and WCC Section 110.912.05(e), the Planning Commission members receive compensation of \$80 per meeting. The Planning Commission is required by Nevada Revised Statute to meet monthly, which equates to an annual per member stipend of \$960. FY 2020 budget authority exists for the service in Community Services Department Planning and Development Admin (105400), Contracted/Temp Services (710110).

#### RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Board of County Commissioners approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Larry Peyton to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 1 (generally includes Incline Village and Crystal Bay, most of the Southwest Truckee Meadows area and portions of the Forest area along the west side of Mt. Rose Highway), to fill a partial term beginning on June 1, 2020, and ending on June 30, 2022, or until such time as Mr. Peyton no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. Applicants include: Dereck S. Barrett, Thomas B. Courson, Michael Lefrancois, Larry Peyton, D. Alexandra T. Profant, Joy Royston, Joseph Schulz.

## **POSSIBLE MOTION**

Should the Chair appoint Mr. Peyton to the Planning Commission and should the Board agree with the appointment, a possible motion would be:

"Move to approve, pursuant to NRS 278.040 and on the recommendation of the Chair, the appointment of Larry Peyton to the Washoe County Planning Commission representing Commission District 1 (generally includes Incline Village and Crystal Bay, most of the Southwest Truckee Meadows area and portions of the Forest area along the west side of Mt. Rose Highway), to fill a partial term beginning on June 1, 2020, and ending on June 30, 2022, or until such time as Mr. Peyton no longer serves on the Planning Commission or a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. Applicants include: Dereck S. Barrett, Thomas B. Courson, Michael Lefrancois, Larry Peyton, D. Alexandra T. Profant, Joy Royston, Joseph Schulz."

## Applications:

Attachment A – Larry Peyton

Attachment B – Dereck S. Barrett

Attachment C – Thomas B. Courson

Attachment D – Michael Lefrancois

Attachment E – D. Alexandra T. Profant

Attachment F – Joy Royston

Attachment G – Joseph Schulz

Cc: Larry Peyton