

# VASHOE COUNTY

Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.us

STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: January 23, 2018	CM/ACM <b>KT</b>
	Finance CH/LC
	DA <b>KM</b>
	Risk Mgt <b>DE</b>
	HR <b>N/A</b>
	Other <b>N/A</b>
Thursday, January 18, 2018	

- **DATE:** 
  - **TO:** Board of County Commissioners
- FROM: Emily B. Reed, Self Help Center and Law Library Program Manager (775) 325-6625, emily.reed@washoecourts.us
- THROUGH: Jackie Bryant, District Court Administrator/Clerk of Court
  - SUBJECT: Recommendation to reappoint one attorney member and appoint two non-attorney members to the Law Library Board of Trustees. It is recommended that Clayton Brust serve as an attorney member for a two-year term expiring on January 31, 2020, Cortney Young serve as a non-attorney member for a two-year term expiring January 31, 2020, and Kathi Lutsch serve as a non-attorney member for a one year term expiring January 31, 2019. Candidates will satisfy the attorney position and non-attorney positions required for the Law Library Board of Trustees. [All Commission Districts]

# **SUMMARY**

Clayton Brust seeks reappointment to the Law Library Board of Trustees, Cortney Young and Kathi Lutsch seek appointment to the Law Library Board of Trustees. It is recommended that Clayton Brust serve as an attorney member for a two-year term expiring on January 31, 2020, Cortney Young serve as a non-attorney member for a twoyear term expiring January 31, 2020, and Kathi Lutsch serve as a non-attorney member for a one-year term expiring January 31, 2019.

County and District Court Strategic Objective supported by this item: Regional and community leadership.

# **PREVIOUS ACTION**

On January 27, 2015, the BCC appointed Michael Kattelman to a first term as an attorney member of the Law Library Board of Trustees and Pamela Gullihur to serve a fifth term as a non-attorney member of the Law Library Board of Trustees. On January 12, 2016, the BCC appointed Clayton Brust to a third term as an attorney member of the Law Library Board of Trustees and Teresa Mentzer to a fourth term as a non-attorney member of the Law Library Board of Trustees. On January 10, 2017, the BCC appointed Michael Kattelman for a second term as an attorney member of the Law Library Board of Trustees

and Pamela Gullihur to serve as a non-attorney member for a sixth term. The Law Library Board of Trustees appointed members serve a two year term and meet quarterly.

## BACKGROUND

The Law Library Board of Trustees is made up of two attorneys and two non-attorneys appointed by the Board of County Commissioners for two-year terms that overlap. The Board also has three District Judge members designated by the District Court Judges. The Board of Trustees meets on a quarterly basis.

On November 17, 2017, Teresa Mentzer resigned from the Law Library Board of Trustees effective at the end of her term on January 31, 2018. The Law Library Board of Trustees would like to appoint Cortney Young to fill the position previously held by Ms. Mentzer.

At the December 6, 2017, Law Library Board of Trustees meeting, Pamela Gullihur resigned her position as a member upon noting that there were two new qualified applicants. The Law Library Board of Trustees would like to appoint Kathi Lutsch to the remainder of Ms. Gullihur's term.

#### FISCAL IMPACT

No fiscal impact.

## **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that the Board of County Commissioners reappoint one attorney member and appoint two non-attorney members to the Law Library Board of Trustees. It is recommended that Clayton Brust serve as an attorney member for a two-year term expiring on January 31, 2020, Cortney Young serve as a non-attorney member for a two-year term expiring January 31, 2020, and Kathi Lutsch serve as a non-attorney member for a two-year term for a one year term expiring January 31, 2019. Candidates will satisfy the attorney position and non-attorney positions required for the Law Library Board of Trustees.

#### **POSSIBLE MOTION**

Move to approve reappointment of one attorney member and appointment of two nonattorney members to the Law Library Board of Trustees. It is recommended that Clayton Brust serve as an attorney member for a two-year term expiring on January 31, 2020, Cortney Young serve as a non-attorney member for a two-year term expiring January 31, 2020, and Kathi Lutsch serve as a non-attorney member for a one year term expiring January 31, 2019. Candidates will satisfy the attorney position and non-attorney positions required for the Law Library Board of Trustees.

cc:

Judge Connie Steinheimer, Chair of the Law Library Board of Trustees Keith Munro, Deputy District Attorney Stephan Hollandsworth, Deputy District Attorney