

WASHOE COUNTY

Integrity Communication Service www.washoecounty.us

STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: March 26, 2019

- **DATE:** March 20, 2019
- **TO:** Board of County Commissioners
- **FROM:** Dana Searcy, Management Analyst

(775) 328-2720, <u>dsearcy@washoecounty.us</u>

- THROUGH: John Slaughter, County Manager
- SUBJECT: Appointment of a person to the declared vacancy of the Nevada State Assembly District 30 seat, pursuant to NRS 218A.260, from among the following candidates: Natha Clyde Anderson, Laura Bayer, Deborah Ann Chicago, Elvira Diaz, Jenna Garcia, Joseph C. Giampapa, Jonathon R. Haley, Debra Lynn Harris, Thor Kevin Jensen, Javier Lara-Renteria, Emerson Marcus, Leslie Ann Mix, Nancy A. Price, Evan Pritsos, Greg Smith, Wendy Danielle Stolyarov, and the Clerk shall send notification of the appointment to the Secretary of State, the Speaker of the Assembly and to the Governor of the State of Nevada.

SUMMARY

The Board of County Commission has been requested by the Governor of the State of Nevada to appoint to a vacant legislative seat Assembly District 30 representing Washoe County. The appointee will serve until the election in November 2020, when voters will select the representative for the seat.

Washoe County Strategic Objective: Regional and Community Leadership

BACKGROUND

Voters typically choose their legislators at elections, so appointing individuals to vacant seats in the Nevada Legislature is a serious responsibility of the Board of County Commissioners. In an atmosphere of quickly evolving information concerning a session of the Nevada Legislature, citizens were offered the opportunity to submit their name to be considered by the County Commissioners for the vacant seat.

Under state law, the following criteria must be met in order to be qualified for the appointment:

- Reside in the district he or she is seeking to represent.
- Be at least 21 years old and a qualified elector, pursuant to Section 1 of Article 2 of the Constitution of the State of Nevada.

• Be of the same political party as the resigning member. Mike Sprinkle is a Democrat.

In addition, applicants were required to submit a complete application by the stated deadline of Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 5 p.m.

The list of applicants for the Nevada State Assembly District 30 seat includes:

- Natha Clyde Anderson
- Laura Bayer
- Deborah Ann Chicago
- Elvira Diaz
- Jenna Garcia
- Joseph C. Giampapa
- Jonathon R. Haley
- Debra Lynn Harris
- Thor Kevin Jensen
- Javier Lara-Renteria
- Emerson Marcus
- Leslie Ann Mix
- Nancy A. Price
- Evan Pritsos
- Greg Smith
- Wendy Danielle Stolyarov

FISCAL IMPACT

No fiscal impact on this item.

RECOMMENDATION

Appoint a person to the vacant Nevada State Assembly District 30 seat, pursuant to NRS 218A.260, from among the following candidates: Natha Clyde Anderson, Laura Bayer, Deborah Ann Chicago, Elvira Diaz, Jenna Garcia, Joseph C. Giampapa, Jonathon R. Haley, Debra Lynn Harris, Thor Kevin Jensen, Javier Lara-Renteria, Emerson Marcus, Leslie Ann Mix, Nancy A. Price, Evan Pritsos, Greg Smith, Wendy Danielle Stolyarov, and the Clerk shall send notification of the appointment to the Secretary of State, the Speaker of the Assembly and to the Governor of the State of Nevada.

POSSIBLE MOTION

Possible motion would be: "Move to appoint ______ to fill the declared vacancy of the Nevada State Assembly District 30 seat, pursuant to NRS 218A.260 and the Clerk shall send notification of the appointment to the Secretary of State, the Speaker of the Assembly and to the Governor of the State of Nevada."